Best of the Best 2010


Joe recently had the opportunity to give back to the community he has lived in his whole life. The Livingston Parish Chamber Education Committee recently created the community recognition program known as the “Best of the Best in Livingston Parish Public Schools!”  and Joe was eager to participate. As a member of the Livingston Parish Chamber of Commerce, he volunteered to sponsor awards of distinction given to three outstanding teachers in our area.  Each teacher was selected to receive the award by the Livingston Parish Public Schools administration based on their commitment to, and influence on, the community. Joe was eager to sponsor each $200 award given at the Chamber meeting on June 9, 2010. The educators receiving the awards were:  Kathleen Dunaway, Erin Jeansonne, and Amy Flake.

Another way Joe gave back to the community was by sponsoring a $500 scholarship to a high school senior in Live Oak, Meghan Bilski. There were 31 students in Livingston Parish who qualified for the scholarship for being outstanding students! (See picture below.)

Joe believes that education is a must for successful businesses and their employees. By investing in parish teachers and students, he knows there will be a better-educated pool of future employees to choose from…and that will benefit us all!

Here is a picture of Joe with Meghan Bilski and the First Lady of Louisiana, Supriya Jindal. (Thanks to Melissa Cannon Photography for permission to use the picture.)


Return to Archive